“And on your left… a whole lot of nothin’”

Hello fellow travelers. This is your resident blogger speaking.

It appears as if we’ve just burned through our first (rather) substantial quiet period here on our outward journey. Call it a void, the Big Empty, or a whole lot of nothing.. it seems I’ve succumbed to that which plagues even the greatest amongst us.

But fear not; Outwardbounder is not without her helmsman.

Yes I know, it may look as if this ship’s been hurtling blind and trackless.. But I’ve prepared my barrel-full of excuses. It’s practically bubbling over-

I’ve been below deck (that’s my last nautical metaphor, I promise), seeing to some ‘real life’ duties that puts food on the table and keeps an internet connection humming. You know – general long term welfare type stuff. I’ve recently taken a new job and have just got over that baby-giraffe-wobbly period where it seems I don’t know what the hell I’m doing. 10 hour days have seemingly cut into my fanciful side.

But no longer!

I’m actually cranking out a rough draft of this very post here on the first break o’ the day. This ship cannot be stopped! (Damn)

In the meantime, I’ve had one helluva backlog in creativity. It’s like a dam that’s sectioned off all of my creative juices. As you can see from all of these awkward and particularly forced metaphors.. I gotta tear that sonofabitch down!

It’s high time that I let you guys know that Outwardbounder is alive and kicking, and there are actually some pretty cool undertakings in the works.

First off: Peer reviews! I’ve found it my good fortune to be reading some very cool works by some writer friends of mine. I’ve gone over their stuff at some length and have always been impressed. I love being a part of this step in the process, and am so grateful that they’ve sought out my input.

Check these guys out here and here. You wont be disappointed.

This is a perfect way to get my head back in the game. I’m completely open to other such reviews as well, if you’re so inclined. I would be happy to post them on this humble blog as well… if… if you’re so inclined. Hit me up.

Second off: That creative backlog, I mentioned. It’s overwhelming. The stuff has been ricocheting between my cerebral hemispheres for far too long. You know you should start getting that stuff on paper after you’ve started your 4th, 5th or 17th story outline. A man can only take so much brainstorming before it has some kind of permanent effect.

I’ve got one about a time traveler that projects himself to the end of the universe; one momentous slice at a time.

A guy’s family reunion with a long lost Neanderthal.

Human intelligence seen from a ruthless cephalopod’s POV.

An alien hive-mind cloud whose idea of greeting involves skewering, impaling, and piercing.

One with universe hopping the long way around – i.e, waiting for a habitable universe to evolve up around you.

And most importantly, dinosaurs that might not be dinosaurs but probably are because they’re awesome enough to be actual dinosaurs.

 —

–As you might imagine, my daydreaming and actual-dreaming have been pretty hectic lately.

So that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. For those of you that find such things agreeable; Outwardbounder will be experiencing a concerted effort by her captain to make a comeback. My presence on twitter has been spiking again, and I’ve devoted some time to Pinterest in a means to kickstart that ever-elusive artistic muse.

Check them both out. They’re full of creative, interesting people. And they’re a good way to ruminate on imaginative subjects. That’s the service I strive to provide, after all.

I’ve also got my mind on beginning a proper youtube page, with possible video accompaniment for these blog posts. DeviantART seems like a good idea for my cartoony doodling skills as well. Any content is good content, right?

Once again: Thanks for sticking around, if you did. Many welcomes to those first-timers. Much love to all you guys. Kick back, check out a story or poem or two; on me. There’s bound to be more incoming not far on that galactic horizon.

6 thoughts on ““And on your left… a whole lot of nothin’”

    • Happy to do it, Dan.
      Man, it looks like I was pretty nix with the description for that dinosaur one.. And it’s really got the most going for it.
      It will actually be based ‘loosely’ on a short story I happened across way back when.
      Its about universe-hopping anthropologists looking to do ‘good science’ but end up tweaking the fabric of reality a little too much. My story will branch off when they accidentally re-seed a universe with dinosaurs.
      The dinos featured will be almost alien to the protagonists; e.g not at all what they expected.
      It should be dark and grim.
      And there will probably be blood.
      Not that this isn’t complicated enough, but a separate universe (in this continuum) features in a novel sized piece I’m working on… but my comment has got away from me enough as it is!

  1. The creatures will look… Unexpected.

    The central conceit of the story is: These guys are traveling to alternate worlds.. so are these really what we’d scientifically designate as dinosaurs? Or a tangent? Or something else completely?

    I was watching one of Memo Kosemen’s podcasts and he mentioned a concept for a scary/weird feathered dino. One that might not be instantly recognizably dinosaurian.

    It got to thinking..

    There’s a lot we can’t know about the fossil record and this story plays with that.

Leave a comment